Thursday, August 05, 2010

UGA announces 2010 Charter Scholarship recipients

Editor's Notes:  Super kudos to the following Fayette County graduates who received this honor from UGA!

Laura Eckhardt / Peachtree City / Starr’s Mill High School
Sadie Mason / Peachtree City / McIntosh High School
Elliott Tanner / Peachtree City / Starr’s Mill High School
Matthew Winn / Peachtree City / McIntosh High School

University of Georgia incoming freshmen have been selected to receive the Charter Scholarship for the 2010-2011 academic year.

The Charter Scholarship, named to reflect the university’s distinction as the nation’s first state-chartered public university, recognizes first-year students with stellar academic records, leadership and community involvement, and a respect for and commitment to intellectual, social and cultural diversity. The Charter Scholarship is funded by the University of Georgia Foundation.

In-state students receive $1,000 per year in addition to the HOPE Scholarship. Out-of-state recipients are given full or partial non-resident tuition differential waivers with their $1,000 annual scholarships.

The average SAT score of this year’s Charter Scholars exceeded 1400 and their average high school GPA exceeded 4.0.Usually the top six to eight percent of incoming freshmen are recognized as Charter Scholars.

The award is renewable for an additional three years if the recipients maintain certain academic standards.

Community News You Can Use
Fayette Front Page
Georgia Front Page
Follow us on Twitter:  @GAFrontPage

No comments: