Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Whitewater Technology Students Win Awards

Whitewater High School TSA officers (L-R from top to bottom) Rhandi Finch, Jon Lester, Jason Menko, Zuri Coleman, Guppy Scott and Katie Cassidy.

Officers of the Technology Student Association (TSA) at Whitewater High School take first place at the Georgia TSA Chapter Officer Retreat for Excellence (CORE).

TSA is the oldest student organization dedicated exclusively to students enrolled in technology classes in grades K-12. The CORE program is designed to provide local chapter officers with an opportunity to develop interpersonal and leadership skills, gain necessary knowledge and abilities to carry out the duties of their individual offices, and prepare a Chapter Program of Work that outlines activities for the coming year.

After attending a day of workshops, chapter officers turn in their Program of Work to state officers for review. Whitewater’s officers were awarded first place. The officers are Rhandi Finch, Jon Lester, Jason Menko, Zuri Coleman, Guppy Stott and Katie Cassidy.

In addition to the Program of Work win, Jason Menko and Carolyn Smith both earned the Statesmen Award that is given to students who receive at least an 85 on a test about TSA’s general information, history, officer duties, awards and other TSA facts.

Whitewater’s team also delivered a presentation to other chapters attending CORE. The team received excellent remarks and comments from the attendees.

Community News You Can Use
Fayette Front Page
Fayetteville, Peachtree City, Tyrone
Georgia Front Page

No comments: