Thursday, April 16, 2009

Fayette County Presidential Scholar Semifinalists Named

Three graduating seniors from Fayette County's high schools have been named semifinalists for the 2009 Presidential Scholars Program.

Jennie K. Lee, Fayette County High, and Minna Choi and William S. Kearney, both of McIntosh High, are among 17 students from Georgia and 562 nationwide to be selected as semifinalists. They are the only semifinalists in the south metro area. Students chosen as scholars for the program will be announced in May.

The Presidential Scholars Program is a recognition program where application is by invitation only based on a student’s SAT or ACT scores. Students must also be graduating seniors and United States citizens to be eligible for candidacy.

Those chosen as Presidential Scholars receive an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. in June and the Presidential Scholars medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House. Scholars have access to important national and international figures, including government officials, educators, authors, musicians, scientists and other accomplished people. They are also provided opportunities to wrestle with issues that concern America and the world, participate in volunteer activities to benefit those in need, attend recitals, receptions and monuments.

Over 3,000 students nationwide were selected as candidates for the program and invited to submit applications to be considered for semifinalist, and then, scholar status.

Fayette Front Page
Community News You Can Use
Fayetteville, Peachtree City, Tyrone
Georgia Front Page
Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

No comments: