Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Fayette County Students Selected to Governor’s Honors

A total of 20 students from Fayette County's five high schools are finalists for the 2009 Governor’s Honors Program. The six-week summer study program in Valdosta provides intellectually gifted and artistically talented high school students challenging and enriching educational opportunities not usually available during the regular school year. Activities are designed to provide each participant with opportunities to acquire the skills, knowledge and attitudes to become independent, life-long learners.

The selection process is lengthy and begins in the fall when teachers from each high school nominate students for outstanding performance in particular areas of study. The nominated students advance to county-level interviews where the finalists for state consideration are selected.

County finalists interview with state officials to determine who will participate in the summer study program. Thousands of students from around the state compete for the coveted spots each year.

The following students have been selected to participate in the 2009 program:

Fayette County High – Navroz Tharani and Iesha White.

McIntosh High – Donald Flemming, John O’Leary and Matthew Niebes.

Sandy Creek High – Ifeanyi Awachie, Camara Carter, Aamir Lalani, Sarah Preston and Jaemin Sung.

Starr’s Mill High – Jordan Avery, Lydia Hanie, Jessica Rexrode, Travis Richardson, Ashley Tracy and Matthew Waples.

Whitewater High – Victoria Gerrard, Alec Hawthorne, Jessica Heimann and Hannah Sultan.

Fayette Front Page
Community News You Can Use
Fayetteville, Peachtree City, Tyrone
Georgia Front Page
Follow us on Twitter: @GAFrontPage

No comments: